While My Drive in Google Drive works extremely well for individuals who would like to store content online, and share that content with others, it offers only limited functionality for groups and teams.

Google Team Drives are shared spaces where groups of people can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device. As with Drive, you can access files in Team Drives from your computer using any web browser or you can install the mobile application to access your files from your Android or iOS mobile device. While the files in Google My Drive are owned by the drive owner, files stored in a Team Drive belong to the team instead of an individual.

Team Drive is ideal for groups of colleagues who often collaborate on documents together, such as work groups, committees,  or project teams.  All team members can share in the responsibility of organizing and maintaining the files. Team members can be added or removed from the Team Drive at any time.  When a team member is removed from the group, all of the files remain in the Team Drive so that the team can continue to share information and complete necessary work. (Thanks to Stanford University for  some of this content.)

Some of the distinct advantages of Team Drives include:

  • Files remain after an employee leaves
  • Files are easier to find by looking in Team Drives rather than My Drive or Shared with me

How to request creation of a Team Drive

You can request the creation of a Google Team Drive through the form located in MyBucknell>Forms and Policies>Library & IT>Technology Forms.

Questions about using Google Team Drives? See Google’s pages below:

Working with members

Add files and folders

Organize files

Share and collaborate

Questions about Team Drives limits?

See Google’s page for details on maximum number of items, maximum uploads per day, folder hierarchy limits, and Team Driver membership limits

Migrating files and folders from My Drive to a Team Drive

  • You cannot move a folder directly, so you’ll want to create a folder in the new Team Drive and move single or multiple files into that folder. Be sure to grant permissions again if necessary.
  • Ownership of your files that you move to a Team Drive now changes to the team.
  • If you had previously granted permission to a file to an individual who does not have permission to the new Team Drive, that person will retain permission to access that particular file (unless you specifically change or revoke that permission).

For additional information or assistance, please contact the Tech Desk at 570.577.7777 or techdesk@bucknell.edu.

Keywords: Google, Docs, Drive, Team, shared